

Press Release

Thursday, March 21, 2019 For Immediate Release www.sura.org For more information contact: Greg D. Kubiak, Chief Public Affairs Officer 202-408-2412 * kubiak@sura.org

SURA Honors Texas A&M University Professor As Distinguished Scientist

Washington, DC – SURA today announced that Akhil Datta-Gupta, University Distinguished Professor and the L.F. Peterson '36 Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University, will receive its 2019 SURA Distinguished Scientist Award.

The annual honor goes to a research scientist whose extraordinary work fulfills the SURA mission "to advance collaborative research and education and to strengthen the scientific capabilities of its members and our nation." The award and its \$5,000 honorarium will be presented to Dr. Datta-Gupta on March 28, in conjunction with the SURA Board of Trustees meeting being held at Georgia Tech in Atlanta.

"Dr. Datta-Gupta is an eminent scientist, bringing great distinction to his field of study and institution. SURA is proud to convey this special honor to him," said Jerry P. Draayer, SURA President and CEO. "His pioneering work on high-resolution modeling of fluid flow in petroleum reserves are well known throughout the world."

In his letter supporting the nomination, Mohan Kelkar, Chairman and Williams Endowed Professor at the University of Tulsa's McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering, wrote, "Without question, Dr. Datta-Gupta has established himself as a preeminent expert in his field." Noting the awards that he's received from the International Society of Petroleum Engineers, he added that the such recognition is "a testament to Dr. Datta-Gupta's innovative research and his ability to marry research with practical applications."

Datta-Gupta received his B.S. in petroleum engineering from the Indian School of Mines in Dhanbad, India followed by his M.S. and Ph.D. from The University of Texas at Austin. His professional experience includes working in the Earth Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, and Engineering Specialist with BP Research in Cleveland and Reservoir Engineer with BP Exploration in Alaska. His academic positions at Texas A&M spanned from an assistant professor in 1994 to Regents Professor, University Distinguished Professor and current endowed chair position.

Datta-Gupta is a prolific researcher in petroleum engineering working at the forefront of reservoir modeling, history matching, and streamline simulation technologies for well over the last decade. His research program is funded by the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and oil companies worldwide, garnering over \$10M for his portion. He has directed over 91 graduate students, including 43 Ph.D. students graduated, with 10 in progress. He has authored 4 books, 102 peer-reviewed journal articles, 7 book chapters, and 117 conference proceedings.

In addition to his election to the National Academy of Engineering and the two Cedric K. Ferguson Awards, Datta-Gupta has been recognized by numerous awards for his pioneering contributions in petroleum engineering. He is a Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Honorary Member (the highest honor bestowed by the society). He is the recipient of the 2015 SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty. He is an SPE distinguished member (elected, 2001), distinguished lecturer (1999-2000), distinguished author (2000) and was selected as an outstanding

technical editor (1996). In addition to his SPE awards, he is recipient of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) Rossiter W. Raymond award (1992), the DOE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Basic Research in Geosciences (2008) and served as member of the Polar Research Board of the National Academy of Sciences (2001-2004) and the Technology Task Force of the National Petroleum Council (2007).

The SURA Distinguished Scientist Award was established in 2007, commemorating the organization's 25th Anniversary. SURA's Development & Relations Committee manages the solicitation, screening and selection of the recipient from a SURA member institution. The president and trustee of each of SURA's 60-member research universities is eligible to make one nomination for the Distinguished Scientist Award.

###

The Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) is a consortium of over 60 leading research institutions in the southern United States and the District of Columbia established in 1980 as a non-stock, nonprofit corporation. SURA serves as an entity through which colleges, universities, and other organizations may cooperate with one another, and with government and industry in acquiring, developing, and using laboratories and other research facilities and in furthering knowledge and the application of that knowledge in the physical, biological, and other natural sciences and engineering. For more information, visit www.sura.org.